How To Laser Engrave Mirrors (The Simplest Way!)

YoraHome
2 min readSep 5, 2021

--

One of the great things about having a YoraHome machine is the ability to work on a variety of materials.

My first machine was Yora CNC Carving Machine 3018-Pro and I added a 5.5W Yora Laser Module before too long to make it a Yora CNC Carving & Laser Engraving Machine 3018-Pro.

Then, the temptation was too great and I got a Yora CNC Laser Engraving Machine 6550 and eventually ended up with 40W Yora Laser Module.

One of the first things I tried when I got my first laser was to laser engrave a mirror. Well, if you’ve read any of my blogs before, you’ll already know I did a lot of winging it, but got some decent results without too much trouble, hahaha oh I wish.

If you have no idea where to start with mirrors, this is just for you, the best advice I can give you, and all the little tips I’ve gained over several tries over the months.

First things first, buy cheap mirrors! Expensive mirrors don’t work as well as cheap ones — think pound shop/dollar store type mirrors.

Clean any labels or pads off the back of the mirror and wipe over the back and front with a lens wipe, they’re not just good for cleaning your laser lens.

Place the mirror face down and leave a small gap 3–5 mm between the face of the mirror and your spoil board.

Depending on your laser, set the focus either with the aluminum spacer for a fixed focus laser (15W or 40 w) or set it to approx. 45 mm and adjust as required with the adjustable focus lasers (3.5W or 5.5W).

Continue reading →

Originally published at https://yorahome.com on September 5, 2021.

--

--

YoraHome

Unleash Your Creativity And Start A Successful Business From Home.